Close this search box.


Resource Information

About Medicare

Medicare is the federal health insurance program for people who are 65 and over. Some people under 65 may also qualify for Medicare due to illness or a disability.

An overview of how Medicare works:

Medicare is divided into four parts:

-Medicare Part A is insurance for hospitalization, home or skilled nursing, and hospice.
-Medicare Part B is medical insurance.
-Medicare Part C (Medicare Advantage Plans) is a private insurance option for covering hospital and medical costs.
-Medicare Part D covers prescription medications.

Learn more about how the different parts of Medicare work together to help cover your health care costs here.

To be eligible for Medicare, you must be at least one of the following:

-Age 65 or older
-Under 65 with certain disabilities
-Under 65 with end-stage renal disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a kidney transplant) or ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease)

Website is in English only-for assistance in Spanish, call 1-844-872-4681.